Section Menu

European Computer Driving Licence

  • European Computer Driving Licence ECDL


In the lower part of the school all pupils study for the European Computer Driving Licence.

In the UK, it is recognised by many large organisations including the National Health Service as the benchmark IT qualification. BCS have created an ECDL Qualification to meet the criteria set out by the Department for Education. This qualification is graded and gains school performance points.

On the Ofqual register the qualification is entitled BCS Level 2 ECDL Certificate in IT Application Skills; QAN 600/6943/0.

ECDL is proof of a pupil's digital literacy. It is also a high quality, internationally-recognised qualification, validated and approved by academic and global experts, and valued by employers around the world.

Pupils study the units listed below:

Word processing


Improving productivity




ECDL is awarded according to a four-tier grading structure, ranging from pass to distinction-star. This ensures learners receive the right level of recognition for their efforts. ECDL attracts performance points as shown below:


58 points


52 points


46 points


40 points