Section Menu

Duke of Edinburgh Award

The Duke of Edinburgh Award is the single most important thing to have on a CV after academic qualifications according to a recent survey of employers.  At Mount Kelly pupils have the opportunity to gain their Bronze, Silver and Gold awards and the journey begins in the Year 9.

The D of E Award comes in four sections:

  • Volunteering – e.g. NT work, Community Service.
  • Skill – e.g. Music, Speech and Drama.
  • Physical – e.g. Rugby, Netball, Hockey
  • Expedition – 2 days and 1 night.

The Duke of Edinburgh Award is internationally renowned and provides young people with the opportunity to develop independence, personal life skills, teamwork, and leadership and to demonstrate their commitment.

Pupils in Year 9 take part in an independent learning and expedition skills programme and, as part of this, learn the skills required for their expedition section for the Bronze Duke of Edinburgh that takes place in the Lent or Summer term each year. They then progress through the other sections to complete their Bronze award during Year 10.

Pupils then have the opportunity to progress onto the Silver award in Year 10 and finally the Gold award once they reach the age of 16 years.  Expedition opportunities include Brecon Beacons, Dartmoor and Overseas Expeditions such as to South Africa where pupils have completed their walks in both the Drakensberg Mountains and around the Lakes of Kosi Bay.

At Gold pupils must also complete a fifth section called the residential where participants must complete a 5 day, 4 night residential trip with people they do not know.  This is a fantastic opportunity to meet new people and try something new before heading off into the workplace or to University.